RICHIE SCHLEY

What does your typical day look like?

 

Get up pretty early most days and make a cappuccino, then sit at my computer for an average of 2 to 4 hours, each morning taking care of my plans for trips, filling out bios for web sites for my sponsors ;) and things like that. Generally, I have to do some kind of work on one of my bikes to get them ready for a ride, or testing some new product, preparing them for shoots, or whatever the situation is. I ride around 4 to 5 times a week, sometimes more, sometimes less. Usually my rides are around 1.5 to 2.5 hours, with some friends. Hans Rey, my buddy Tony the Tiger, or a couple of guys here that are pro wind surfers; Dorian Van Rijsselberghe and Zac Plavsic.  

For cross training, I go to yoga, SUP surf or surf. Sometimes I go skiing. On the best days, I ride and surf, for a full workout.  

 

 

In California, we have epic sunsets, so I always try to position myself, to watch it happen. Whether it is on a ride at the beach or with friends having drinks, it is a special time of the day. Most evening I am out with friends, which a lot of them are bike industry people, having fun and discussing things bike related. During the season, this routine is slightly different, as I am traveling a lot, going out on photo and video shoots, attending events and festivals around the world, like Crankworx or the bike Magazine festival in Riva Del Garda, Italy or involved in meeting with bike people planning products and events. A photo shoot day is a completely different situation, depending on the project, the players involved and the location. They are usually fun and kind of just a jam session with other riders and shooters that a typically my friends.

 

 

 

 

WHAT ARE YOUR GOALS, WHAT MOTIVATES YOU?

My goal is to inspire people to be active and live a healthy fun life. I think you can chose how to live your live and doing it in an enjoyable way, is much healthier then a stressful way. I get excited when I produce content, photos, videos and stories, that inspire people to ride and challenge themselves, to do the things I love to do.